Disney’s Frozen & What It Means to Me

By Ariel

On Monday, my son and I spent his first day of his Spring Break at the library watching Disney’s Frozen, 100% complimentary. Within the first 10 minutes of a movie, I can tell if my son is feeling it or not…and he wasn’t. Me, on the other hand? I was into it like the movie was written specifically for me. This feeling was probably intensified since I read a quick book about the movie before going up to the movie room.

If you haven’t seen it, the movie is about two royal sisters: Anna and Elsa of Arrendale. Elsa has magical ice powers that allow her to create snow anytime she wants and Anna loves it. One day, Elsa create “snow land” in their house; Anna moved too quickly and bumped her head on the ice really badly. Her parents and Elsa took her to the troll king, who healed her and advised that Elsa control her powers because they’d only get stronger. The trip to the troll king stripped Anna’s memory of her sister’s power and caused a rift between their friendship. Soon after, a tragedy occurred that forced them back together as sisters and friends.

As Disney movies usually go, true love was drizzled throughout. This time, though, the love interests were about sisters and I loved that. This movie will be remembered forever because everyone comes from a family, big or small. It encourages little ones to value the relationships that they have with each other and to never shut the other one out. The display of love can be transferred to friendships, too, and I think all parents will appreciate that.

Would You Recommend This Movie?

Yes, I would! For one, it’s funny. And best of all, it values and nurtures family, which is the biggest perk of all. Frozen is now available on DVD in stores, which means that you can probably rent it from your local library.

 

Source: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/david-valdes-greenwood/is-frozen-the-family-movie-of-the-year_b_4367813.html

 

Leave a comment